Articles online

Aerosol-assisted Production of NIR Shielding Nanoparticles: Sodium Tungsten Bronze

Category: Aerosol Physics and Instrumentation

Volume: 20 | Issue: 4 | Pages: 690-701
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2019.10.0548
PDF | Supplemental material

Export Citation:  RIS | BibTeX

To cite this article:
Tu, H., Wang, W. and Chen, D.R. (2020). Aerosol-assisted Production of NIR Shielding Nanoparticles: Sodium Tungsten Bronze. Aerosol Air Qual. Res. 20: 690-701. doi: 10.4209/aaqr.2019.10.0548.

Hao Tu, Weining Wang, Da-Ren Chen

  • Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA 23284, USA


  • Continuous synthesis of NIR shielding nanoparticles in one step has been realized.
  • The synthesis process is aerosol-based.
  • The mechanism for particle formation in the process was investigated.
  • The reaction involved in the synthesis was also studied.
  • NIR shielding particles in single crystalline phase and in high purity were produced.


An aerosol-assisted process for continuously producing sodium tungsten bronze particles in one step was proposed. The effects of the precursor solution, solvent, heating temperature, and moisture concentration on the quality (i.e., crystallinity) of the products were systematically investigated. The mechanisms for the particle formation and the chemical reactions involved in this process were also studied. By varying the atomic ratio of sodium to tungsten in the precursor solution, sodium tungsten bronze particles in the cubic (Na0.70WO3) and tetragonal (Na0.57WO3) phases were monophasically produced. Particles in both phases showed near infrared (NIR) shielding properties. However, cubic-phase particles (Na0.70WO3) possessed higher visibility in the visible light range due to their lower impurity content and higher crystallinity.


NIR shielding particles Sodium tungsten bronze crystal Aerosol-assisted synthesis

Related Article

Low-cost PM2.5 Sensors: An Assessment of their Suitability for Various Applications

Rohan Jayaratne, Xiaoting Liu, Kang-Ho Ahn, Akwasi Asumadu-Sakyi, Gavin Fisher, Jian Gao, Adrian Mabon, Mandana Mazaheri, Benjamin Mullins, Mawutorli Nyaku, Zoran Ristovski, Yvonne Scorgie, Phong Thai, Matthew Dunbabin , Lidia Morawska