Articles online

Effects of Carbon Dioxide Addition on the Soot Particle Sizes in an Ethylene/Air Flame

Category: Optical/Radiative Properties and Remote Sensing

Volume: 17 | Issue: 10 | Pages: 2522-2532
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2017.08.0271

Export Citation:  RIS | BibTeX

Linghong Chen1, Jianwu Zhou1, Xianjue Zheng2, Jian Wu1, Xuecheng Wu 1, Xiang Gao1, Gérard Gréhan3, Kefa Cen1

  • 1 State Key Laboratory of Clean Energy Utilization, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou 310027, China
  • 2 Hangzhou Environmental Monitoring Center Station, Hangzhou 310027, China
  • 3 UMR 6614/CORIA, CNRS, BP12 76801 Saint Etienne du Rouvray, France


Absorption function are investigated to study the effect of CO2 dilution.
Flame heights are measured to study the effect on flame structure.
Soot particle sizes are measured to study the effect on soot formation.


Carbon dioxide (CO2) is an important compound for the inhibition of combustion flame. This work investigated the effects of CO2 addition on the soot particle sizes in axisymmetric laminar co-flow ethylene/air diffusion flames, as determined by using temporal laser-induced incandescence (LII). Additionally, the flame height and absorption function of soot particles were also studied. The results showed that the size and absorbency of soot particles decreases with the addition of CO2. The total flame height also decreases with CO2 addition, while the height of the dark region grows. These results show that CO2 addition dilutes the gas stream, compresses the nucleation of soot particles and makes them less mature. This study provides useful information for the control of soot particle formation during combustion processes.


Carbon dioxide dilution Flame height Laser-induced incandescence Particle sizes Absorption function

Related Article

Particle Size Distribution of Soot from a Laminar/Diffusion Flame

Jian Wu, Linghong Chen , Jianwu Zhou, Xuecheng Wu, Xiang Gao, Gérard Gréhan, Kefa Cen

The Variation of Aerosol Optical Depth over the Polar Stations of Korea

Ja-Ho Koo , Taejin Choi, Yeseul Cho, Hana Lee, Jaemin Kim, Dha Hyun Ahn, Jhoon Kim, Yun Gon Lee
Accepted Manuscripts
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2018.08.0308