Articles online

Numerical Simulation and Experimental Validation for the Filtration Performance of Fibrous Air Filter Media with LB Method

Category: Special Issue for the 12th World Filtration Congress

Volume: 17 | Issue: 11 | Pages: 2645-2658
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2016.12.0554

Export Citation:  RIS | BibTeX

Bin Zhou , Yang Xu, Jia-Qi Fan, Li-Ping Chen, Fei Li, Ke Xue

  • Department of HVAC, College of Urban Construction, Nanjing Tech University, Nanjing 210009, China


Boundary conditions exert prominent influence on the performance of fibrous media.
Resistance equation of fibrous media by Kuwabara was better than Happel and Davies.
LB method could be used to well predict the performance of the fibrous media.


The performance of fibrous air filter media is one of the key factors to influence the indoor air quality. In order to develop low-resistance and high-efficiency media, it is necessary to obtain a realistic media model. Based on the truncated log-normal model, the D2G9 scheme of Lattice Boltzmann (LB) method was applied to predict both the resistance and the filtration efficiency of the flow through microscale porous media. The influences of the boundary conditions were investigated. The slip and no-slip boundary conditions on fiber surfaces, as well as the non-equilibrium extrapolation scheme and the periodic scheme, were included in this study. By validating the simulated results with both the experimental and empirical values, it was found that the simulated resistance with the slip boundary on fiber surface and the periodic scheme on upper/lower walls was closer to the real value. The model established in this paper and the LB method presented here provide support for further research on optimization of the fibrous air filter media.


Fibrous media LB method Slip boundary condition Resistance Efficiency

Related Article

Inter-Laboratory Validation of the Method to Determine the Filtration Efficiency for Airborne Particles in the 3–500 nm Range and Results Sensitivity Analysis

Panagiota Sachinidou, Yeon Kyoung Bahk, Min Tang, Ningning Zhang, Shawn S.C. Chen, David Y.H. Pui, Bruno Araújo Lima, Gabriele Bosco, Paolo Tronville, Thomas Mosimann, Mikael Eriksson, Jing Wang