Articles online

A Special Issue in Honor of Chiu-sen Wang-Preface

Category: Articles

Volume: 7 | Issue: 3 | Pages: 277-277
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2006.09.0010

Export Citation:  RIS | BibTeX

Hsi-Hsien Yang

  • Department of Environmental Engineering and Management, Chaoyang University of Technology, Taichung, Taiwan (R.O.C.)


This special issue is published in honor of Professor Chiu-sen Wang, founding editor of Aerosol and Air Quality Research, on the occasion of his 70th birthday.

Professor Wang dedicated his long professional career to teaching, research and service in the field of aerosol science and technology. From late 1960s to early 2000s, Professor Wang taught courses in aerosol technology, first at Syracuse University and then at National Taiwan University. His research was focused on applications of aerosol technology in environmental health. The problems he studied include coagulation, particle deposition in the respiratory tract, air filtration, ambient aerosols, aerosols at workplaces, and indoor aerosols. Since his retirement from National Taiwan University in 2003, Professor Wang has continued to devote himself to aerosol research.

In addition to being a distinguished teacher and researcher, Professor Wang has contributed unselfishly to the promotion of the field of aerosol science and technology. With colleagues he founded the Chinese Association for Aerosol Research in Taiwan (CAART) in 1993 and the peer-review research journal Aerosol and Air Quality Research in 1999. He also established the Chiu-sen Award to recognize outstanding young aerosol scientists in Taiwan. During his tenure as president of International Aerosol Research Assembly (IARA) from 2002 to 2006, Professor Wang worked passionately to promote scientific understanding in the field of aerosol research.


Related Article

Exploring the Variation between EC and BC in a Variety of Locations

Gbenga Oladoyin Salako, Philip K. Hopke , David D. Cohen, Bilkis A. Begum, Swapan K. Biswas, Gauri Girish Pandit, Yong-Sam Chung, Shamsiah Abd Rahman, Mohd Suhaimi Hamzah, Perry Davy, Andreas Markwitz, Dagva Shagjjamba, Sereeter Lodoysamba, Wanna Wimolwattanapun, Supamatthree Bunprapob