Articles online

Dimensional and Elemental Analysis of Particulate Contaminations on Silicon Wafers

Category: Articles

Volume: 2 | Issue: 1 | Pages: 53-60
DOI: 10.4209/aaqr.2002.06.0006

Export Citation:  RIS | BibTeX

To cite this article:
Bai, H., Kang, Y. and Li, C. (2002). Dimensional and Elemental Analysis of Particulate Contaminations on Silicon Wafers. Aerosol Air Qual. Res. 2: 53-60. doi: 10.4209/aaqr.2002.06.0006.

Hsunling Bai , Yuhao Kang, Chengchang Li

  • Institute of Environmental Engineering, National Chiao-Tung University, #75 Po Ai St., Hsinchu 300, Taiwan, ROC


As the dimensions of semiconducting devices continue to shrink, microelectronic devices are becoming increasingly sensitive to micro-contamination on wafer surfaces. This investigation analyzes the particulate morphology, elemental composition and the particle sizes of wafer contaminants in the lithographic process area of a semiconductor plant. Scanning electron microscopic and energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopic analyses identified the elemental compositions of micro-contaminants of silicon wafers as silicon, carbon, oxygen, sodium, magnesium, aluminum, phosphorus, sulfur, chlorine, potassium, calcium, and iron. The organic contaminants on the surfaces of the wafers were approximately 1-2 μm and were the smallest of all the contaminants. Condensation by organic vapors was the likely source of organic contamination. Inorganic particles could also have contaminated the wafer surfaces by sticking onto them. The co-existence of organic and inorganic elements enlarges the wafer contaminants up to 30-50μm. The particle sizes were not directly proportional to the period of exposure of the wafer.


Silicon wafers, Micro-contamination Airborne molecular contamination (AMC) Clean room Lithographic process

Related Article

Exploring the Variation between EC and BC in a Variety of Locations

Gbenga Oladoyin Salako, Philip K. Hopke , David D. Cohen, Bilkis A. Begum, Swapan K. Biswas, Gauri Girish Pandit, Yong-Sam Chung, Shamsiah Abd Rahman, Mohd Suhaimi Hamzah, Perry Davy, Andreas Markwitz, Dagva Shagjjamba, Sereeter Lodoysamba, Wanna Wimolwattanapun, Supamatthree Bunprapob